May 25, 2008

Water-logged Bed!

Posted in Gardening at 4:39 pm by vicii

When I went out to check on the garden this morning I found that I have a seriously waterlogged bed!  Currently in this bed I have planted onions and garlic.  There may be some leeks in there but Max has attacked the plant so I’m not sure if any of the seedlings survived and also I planted two lettuce that my dad gave me.

One of these pictures shows the bed and another shows the extent of the water-loggedness (is that a word?) Please don’t ask why there are three pictures, I got carried away and now I can’t delete what is in the gallery !!

Our neighbours have mentioned that in winter the whole of the bottom of the garden gets water-logged (we have very heavy clay soil) and so since this is where my veg plot is, I need to have a good think on how to combat this problem ready for winter – here comes the internet search………….

Leave a Reply

